Image of Cassidy Friedman

Stories Matter Media LLC is a San Francisco, California-based media company that specializes in independent and commercial nonfiction storytelling – ranging from award-winning feature-length documentaries to branded content to creative marketing projects for clients around the globe.

Cassidy Friedman, Stories Matter Media’s founding owner, loves directing and producing character-driven documentaries that call attention to unsung social justice pioneers of our time.

He has directed the feature-length critically-acclaimed documentary, Circles (2018), which follows a dedicated high school counselor who struggles to balance the energy he pours into supporting his at-risk students and his relationship with his own son. (World Premiere Hot Docs; Winner Documentary Jury Award Special Mention Milwaukee Film Festival; Best Documentary Feature Nominee Nashville Film Fest; Official Selection Heartland International Film Festival; Official Selection Virginia Film Festival).

Cassidy produced the documentary feature, Voices Beyond the Wall (2017), with Executive Producer James Franco, winner of the Interfaith Award for Best Documentary at the St. Louis International Film Festival, a coming-of-age story of girls in Honduras’ only orphanage for girls.

He has directed a score of documentary shorts, both independent and for clients, including “Unstill Life”Official Selection of the 2014 Long Island International Film Expo and The SoCal Creative & Innovative Film Festival.

Current projects include the feature documentary, Soledad, which follows three men seeking a second chance after prison as the nation explores reforming its prison system.

Cassidy is a fellow of CIFF’s Points North Fellowship, Film Independent’s Fast Track program, and Film Independent’s Documentary Lab. His films have won grants from the International Documentary Association’s Pare Lorenz Doc Fund, Pacific Pioneer Fund and Center for Investigative Reporting. His prior work as a journalist earned him the Idaho Governor’s Award for Excellence in Journalism in 2009.